I wrote this three days ago, but I was hesitant to publish it because I couldn’t express myself as well as I wished. But then I thought who cares! This might show how confused and frustrated I am that I can’t even write a clear post about how I really feel. Let it be!

***

Nine years ago, on this day, Khatami was elected for the first round of his presidency. We were happy; we thought our dreams would finally come true. But it was just a dream!

Some Persian blogs have written nostalgic posts about Dovvome Khordad (May 23, 1997) today, but you can see bitterness in almost all of them. Nikahang who has criticized the “reformists” vigorously in the last two years have written that he would vote again for Khatami had he returned to nine years ago, but this time he would bombard Khatami’s government with his criticism to make them understand what responsibility really means. Dreamland has written:
“Khatami couldn’t reform this sick ugly situation with the support of 22 million votes. The future of this country is undetermined, but our nine-year experience tells us not to be hopeful for Iran’s freedom and prosperity. Our fathers never saw Iran’s freedom and prosperity; our generation might not see it either.”

Today I reviewed my own writings about Dovvome Khordad, and what I have written in the past about the reform movement in Iran. I have to confess that I’m not optimistic any more. Until even last year I would passionately talk about the need for a gradual change (reform), but now I don’t think that would ever happen. I see no solution for this fucked-up situation Iran is in. I honestly think even a regime change might not make it any better. We have no unity. Each opposition group is thinking about its own agenda and none approves other groups. Anybody who thinks differently from us should be eliminated. And there is no group who has the support of the majority. We act like terrorists of each other’s personality. Even those active in social movements are like this; students’ movement, women’s movement…

And then there are the supporters of a war on Iran who think a US attack on Iran will change the regime and bring democracy. What democracy when the possibility of a civil war is so high, much higher than what happened in Iraq? There are different ethnic minorities in Iran, many of which have been oppressed all these years (as well as religious minorities). Meanwhile, there are some suspicious groups that try to take advantage of the ethnic minorities’ dissatisfactions to invoke an ethnic war. If a war happens, all these groups will riot, and god knows when peace will ever come back to Iran.

So all this prevent me from getting nostalgic for the ninth anniversary of Dovvome Khordad. We are stuck between a rock and a hard place. I wish I would be able not to think about these issues, but I can’t help thinking and thinking and coming up with no solution…

