**I’ve added updates to the end of this post.
(Last Updated: 5:26 a.m, June 14, 2006)**

Iranian Women's Demonstration: June12,2006

Women participating in the demonstration were beaten and arrested an hour ago. I just read in this blog and this one that the demonstration was brutally suppressed without even being started.

This blog says that Jila Bani Yaghoub, an Iranian prominent journalist was handcuffed and arrested.

I have no news about my friends. I should go to school now. I’ll try to update more as soon as I get any news. Damn it…

*Update 1: One of my friends who was in an office near Hafte Tir square told me in yahoo messenger that there were a lot of policewomen with teargas. They had also red sprays to put on women, so that they would be recognized in case of escaping. She also said that the event was badly organized and not a single location in the big square was selected from before. So people were scattered in different parts of the square. She said some people were taken to jail and some people were taken to hospitals.

* Update 2: Pain, pain, pain, disgust, violence, cruelty, barbarity, fundamentalism…

Nobody knows exactly how many people are arrested. Some are disappeared, some have voluntarily disappeared; no accurate news. My friends’ bodies ache because of being beaten up, but their hearts ache more. Their hearts ache, but their eyes shine…

I have nothing more to update. Many blogs have written various narratives that have similar meanings. Take a look at the pictures by the brave Iranian photographer Arash Ahoorinia, my dear friend whom I’m proud of being his friend. Look at the picture he has taken from the brutality and violence against men and women today. Look at the pictures, a picture speaks a thousand words…

*Update 3: Read more in English here (written by Iranian women):
+ Women’s peaceful demonstration in Tehran was violently suppressed
+ Stop Police Violence
+ Report of Women’s Rights Gathering in Tehran on June 12th 2006
+ Does anybody care what passes in my country?
+ They Need Our Help!

*Update 4: Azadeh Pourzand is translating some excerpts from Iranian blogs:
+ Women’s Voice is Close!
+ Update
+ On Women’s Demonstration

Iranian Women's Demonstration: June12,2006

Iranian Women's Demonstration: June12,2006

Iranian Women's Demonstration: June12,2006

Iranian Women's Demonstration: June12,2006

Iranian Women's Demonstration: June12,2006

Iranian Women's Demonstration: June12,2006

Iranian Women's Demonstration: June12,2006

Iranian Women's Demonstration: June12,2006

Iranian Women's Demonstration: June12,2006

Iranian Women's Demonstration: June12,2006

More pictures here…

