I just want to avoid the news on Iran these days. It’s too much for someone who is far away and unable to do anything. I’m just getting more and more depressed. My personal life sucks. I’m in the middle of a tiring divorce process. I’m worried that my depression will effect my school work. I don’t see the energy in me to write two thesis this year, while I have to graduate in May or I should leave the school. The news of recent arrests, prison sentences, and executions just make me more depressed. After a year of heavy campaign, a man was stoned to death in Iran. Before that, I was feeling a little better about myself, that at least I’m helping with one thing to be changed in Iran. But after Jafar Kiani was stoned secretly, I just felt paralyzed. In fact, paralysis is my ongoing condition these days. I can’t wait for the fall semester to begin, so that I go to our school’s counseling center. I seriously need therapy. I wish I just didn’t care. I wish I could ignore what’s going on in my homeland. I wish I could also ignore what’s going on in my second home (US). I couldn’t stop crying while I was watching Sicko. I know many people, US citizens, whose stories are similar to that of the ones in the movie. It’s just a pity that the health care system is so screwed up here. Americans deserve better. I look at it from a human rights perspective, not from a political perspective. Any human being should have access to food, shelter, and health care, regardless of her financial situation. Our earth can afford that, why can’t we? Why Bush doesn’t stop spending money on arms and spend some money on universal health care system? Why a hardworking citizen of one of the richest countries in the world should become homeless because of cancer? Now I won’t get surprised why I see so many mentally challenged homeless people in the streets. I can imagine that these people could not afford proper mental health care, and their families could not afford taking care of them either, so they’ve ended up being homeless. Those people who say human rights is hijacked are right. Who cares about human rights?! I think the declaration of human rights is just a joke now. I know I don’t make any sense with all these ramblings. I’m so bitter. I just had to let it out.

